Today, April 2, Inese Druviete and Ēriks Kristiāns Selga took up their duties as members of the Competition Council, while Deniss Ščeulovs will start performing his duties as member of the Competition Council on April 3. All three Council members were appointed by the Cabinet of Ministers on 26 March.

Inese Druviete holds a doctorate in law from the University of Latvia. In her professional career, she has worked as a Fulbright-Schuman Program researcher in the USA, researching competition law and technology issues, as a programme director, assistant professor, project manager and researcher at the Riga Graduate School of Law, and as a ministerial advisor at the Ministry of Economics.

Ēriks Kristiāns Selga has worked for the Financial Intelligence Unit of Latvia as a risk analyst, was a trainee at the international financial institution European Stability Mechanism (ESM) and a lawyer at PwC Legal Latvia. Ēriks Kristiāns Selga holds a Master’s degree in International and European Law from Riga Graduate School of Law, a Master’s degree in Transnational Law from Temple University, USA, and is currently pursuing his PhD at the University of Hong Kong.

Deniss Ščeulovs holds several positions at Riga Technical University (RTU). He is a senior researcher, professor and director of the Institute of Business Engineering and Management at RTU. He is also an expert at the Latvian Council of Science and the Academic Information Centre and holds a PhD in Economics from Riga Technical University.

The decision-making body of the Competition Council consists of five officials – the Chairperson of the Competition Council and four members of the Council. Until now, one member’s seat on the Competition Council was vacant, while the term of office of two members of the Competition Council – Jānis Račko (confirmed for a second term on 13 November 2018) and Līga Daugaviete (confirmed on 13 November 2018) – has expired. Currently, the Competition Council is chaired by the Chairperson, Juris Gaiķis, and Kārlis Piģēns (confirmed as a member on 25 October 2022) is also a member of the Council.

According to the Competition Law, the term of office of the members of the Competition Council is five years.